Some people like to do only what they already do well. Other people prefer to try new things and take risks. Which do you prefer? Use specific reasons and examples to support your choice.

Lucius Quinctius Cincinnatus (519–430 BC), Roman statesman

Lucius Quinctius Cincinnatus (519–430 BC), Roman statesman, the man who took the biggest risk in Roman ancient history

Did Cincinnatus hesitate when he was offered the role of commander-in-chief of the Ancient Rome Empire? No. Even if he was a politician without military experience, he accepted the fact that he was leaving his house, his wife and his garden in order to lead the army. After thousands years, he is remembered not only as one of the best strategist of History, but also as the man who preferred taking risks instead of going on with his everyday life.

I always found Cincinnatus’s story powerful and inspiring, because in the same situation I would have done exactly the same choice. In my opinion, the learning capability is what makes the difference between a smart person and a stupid one. And what is the learning capability all about? As far as I am concerned, it is trying new things and taking risks.

As a consequence of this personal belief, I try to have new experiences every moment of my life. For instance, I like going on vacation always in a different place. I also like starting the new year attending a course in a subject which is totally new to me. During my life I’ve had classes about cooking, sewing and dancing. I have never regretted doing this, because I have always learnt something unexpected.

Besides, reasons in support of trying new things are over the personal satisfaction. There are also health benefits regarding memory loss prevention. According to some data published by The Journal of Neurosciences, trying a new experience every day could improve our Intelligence Quotient (IQ) and prevent brain diseases, such as Alzheimer syndrome. This does not necessary imply that you have to do particularly difficult things. On the contrary, in order to stay mentally active it is sufficient, for example, to learn how to cook a new plate, to change the mean of transportation when we go to work, or to have a conversation with a stranger.

As a conclusion, I strongly prefer to do new things, even if sometimes this means taking risks. As far as I am concerned, trying new things is always a source of positive changes, and a leisure activity by itself.

