Tags

, , , , , , ,

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? When people succeed, it is because of hard work. Luck has nothing to do with success. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

JK Rowling

Joanne Rowling is the British novelist known as the author of the “Harry Potter” series. I’ll use her story as a source of inspiration to answering the task in the following essay.

“I had the chance to be the right person in the right place at the right moment”, my friend Alessandro told me when a national all-news channel hired him as a video journalist. And I strongly agree with him that luck plays a huge role in success. I believe this because of two reasons: British writer J. K. Rowling’s story and my personal experience.

First of all, let me explain to the reader what is the relation between the topic and the author of Harry Potter novels saga. As it is widely known, there are four kinds of students in the world of Harry Potter: brave ones, smart ones, ambitious ones and finally hard-working ones. As J. K. Rowling declared in an interview, these four qualities – respectively bravery, intelligence, ambition and hard work – are essential to the same extent in order to succeed. “However, without a bit of luck they are absolutely useless”, the English writer pointed out. I have to side with her, because she really knows what she’s talking about. As it is widely known, Harry Potter‘s manuscript was refused by eight different publishing houses before “Bloomsbury Publishing” brought its publication’s rights and the novel became a worldwide best-seller. Even if this circumstance may seem a point in favor of hard work (if Rowling had ceased to persist, the book would never have been published), the key point is the following: when Bloomsbury bought Harry Potter, business was close to bankruptcy. They decided to print a small amount of copies as exit strategy, planning to end the fiscal year. Things turned out differently, and book’s profits actually saved the company. However, it was a matter of luck that Rowling presented her novel to Bloomsbury in that precise moment. She did not know anything about Bloomsbury’s financial crisis. As a conclusion, this anecdote shows clearly how the power of luck could overtake even the most stubborn hard-working attitude.

Furthermore, an experience I had on the job just a few months ago clearly explains that luck influences success. In that period I was an internee in a company. Even though my boss appreciated my qualities, he said to me that at that moment there was no room for new assumptions. I finished my internship and came back home. Right after that, an employee of the company suddenly died of a heart attack. And who was offered his position to? The new student who had just started the internship right after me. That demonstrates that luck plays a more important role than hard work.

To summarize, paraphrasing the initial statement “Luck has nothing to do with success”, my conclusion is that luck has everything to do with success. Even though you work hard, a misfortune can always destroy your efforts.

